Spaghetti Squash

Happy New Year!

To start the new year off right, I have a recipe for making spaghetti without pasta!

Whattt?? But you love pasta! Yes, I do indeed love all different kinds of pasta and, as a vegetarian, that’s pretty much all I order when I go out to eat. A good friend of mine recently told me about spaghetti squash and I wasn’t thrilled about it because I’m not a fan of squash in general. Well, I am here to reassure you pasta lovers that the spaghetti squash was a great substitution. It doesn’t taste exactly like pasta but it has the same texture as an angel hair pasta and adding a sauce you can barely taste a difference.

Photo Jan 05, 7 10 18 PM

I got a small one from Whole Foods. Preheat oven to 400. Cut it in half and scoop out the seeds.

Photo Jan 05, 7 12 52 PM Photo Jan 05, 7 15 21 PM

I turned both halves down in a dish. Put in oven and bake for 30 to 45 min depending on the size of the squash.

Photo Jan 05, 7 16 15 PM

After it was done or tender, I took it out of the oven and waited for it to cool before turning them over. Use a fork to separate the strands.

Photo Jan 05, 8 07 19 PM Photo Jan 05, 8 15 17 PM

I put the spaghetti-like strands in a bowl. I made a marinara sauce with baby spinach and added it on top. You can also add shredded cheese too.

Photo Jan 05, 8 33 37 PM It was delicious!

You don’t even have to use a tomato sauce, you can just toss it with olive oil and some salt and pepper. And it’s supposed to be a lot healthier than regular angel hair pasta.

 

Leave a comment