Spinach and Nut Pasta

This recipe is very similar to the Spinach Puffs that I made in my last blog..in fact it has most of the same ingredients minus the puff pastry.

Quick question: why are pine nuts so expensive?? Up until this point, I’ve refused to use recipes that include pine nuts because 1. I wasn’t sure where to find them and 2. I’ve only had them in salads. Now I have a third reason because when I finally found some at Whole Foods, I found out that a small package was $10! They come from pine cones right? I guess I should have known since anything sold at Whole Foods is already expensive (hence the nickname Whole Paycheck)…I have a love/hate relationship with Whole Foods..mostly complicated by how much I love their fruits..they are just so good…and there’s one not far from my house as opposed to Trader Joes which is so far I would have to make a special trip to get there..Ok I digress, back to the recipe.

Spinach and Nut pasta: pine nuts, 1 c. any kind of pasta, 2 handfulls of baby spinach, mushrooms, 1/3 of a red onion, 1 chopped garlic clove, 1/2 c. olive oil

2015-09-08 20.24.52

Saute onion, spinach, mushroom, and garlic in pan with olive oil until soft. Add salt, pepper, and pine nuts. Cook the pasta in a separate pot.

2015-09-08 20.40.49

After pasta is done cooking, drain and put in a separate bowl. Add the spinach mixture and mix it all together.

This pasta is super easy and quick to make, I even had leftovers for lunch. Everything about this dish so good and I’m even happy about the pine nut addition!

Leave a Reply

