Blueberry Scones that turned into a Cake and Fun Fall Activities

I’ve actually been trying to make scones for a really long time. It’s one of my favorite baked goods so I decided to finally try it (especially since I conveniently had all the necessary ingredients). However, as I was putting the ingredients together I realized too late that the frozen berries I was going to use were supposed to be drained. When I added them to the mixture, the berry juices made the dough more of a batter and it became a cake. So there’s that..but I’m not complaining because it is well-known that I love cake. Also included in this post are some pictures of my fun fall adventures..now that I live in the Northeast I am now in to things like “apple picking” 🙂

Blueberry Cake-ish Recipe: 2 c. flour, 2 tbs sugar, 1 tbs baking powder, frozen berries (I will try to use fresh ones next time), 1 tsp salt, 1 c. almond milk, 1 egg, 5 tbs butter/margarine

2014-11-02 09.03.45

Stir all dry ingredients together and then mix in the butter. I put the frozen berries in a bowl and put them in the microwave for a little bit. Then add the egg, milk, and berries to the mixture. Pour into greased baking dish and sprinkle sugar on top. Preheat oven 400 and bake for about 20-30 min.

2014-11-02 10.06.47

2014-11-02 10.12.43

It was great but I’ll try to actually make a scone next time 😉

Now for my fun fall adventures..first I went to a local farm and got to go through a corn maze, sip hot apple cider, and actually pick apples from the tree.

2014-10-25 12.55.022014-10-25 12.57.34

2014-10-25 13.06.40

It was such a gorgeous day..there were soo many different kinds of apple trees to pick from too!

I’m so excited about the upcoming holidays minus the winter “vortex” or whatever they are going to call the crazy weather that’s coming up. I’ve already started jammin to my Christmas playlists and my next post will be my annual Christmas/holiday post where I will reveal my favorite Christmas song of the year!

Leave a Reply

