Easy Morningstar Griller Tacos

I have always been a huge advocate for Morningstar “veggie meat” products. Some say that their soy based meat substitutes are too salty and not the most healthy alternative to meat. I feel that anything can be bad if you over do it, everything in moderation right? I just think that they taste good and can be thrown into any meal easily.

Now, the following “beef-like” tacos are really simple and super fast to make. All you need is a bag of Morningstar Griller Crumbles, 1 can of corn, Old El Paso taco seasoning (or any other taco seasoning packets out there), onion, green pepper, corn or flour tortillas, shredded cheese, and any other extras that you put on your tacos (sour cream, lettuce, etc)

2014-09-02 20.02.57

 With the taco seasoning, you can choose how much spice you would like I think I got medium (as opposed to mild). The crumbles come frozen (I use about half the bag) so I saute them with about 1/3 of  an onion and green pepper (roughly chopped) in olive oil.

2014-09-02 20.12.55

After the crumbles soften, I add the taco seasoning following the instructions on the packet. You add about a cup of water and stir in the seasoning…I put the pan on about medium heat while the sauce thickens and add about 1/2 a can of corn.

2014-09-02 20.23.06

The sauce is already pretty salty so I don’t add any salt, just a little chili powder and black pepper to kick it up.

I’ve finally made the switch to using corn tortillas instead of flour, and it hasn’t been that bad. The only part is that they tear so easily. To prevent that, heat the tortillas in a dry skillet for about 10 to 20 seconds on each side and this makes them more pliable.

2014-09-02 20.27.422014-09-02 20.30.11

They were really good yall, I usually only have 2 but I ended up eating all 3 on that plate. There was definitely enough taco “meat” for left overs and you know how much I love my left overs!

 

2 thoughts on “Easy Morningstar Griller Tacos

Leave a Reply

