Dulce de Leche Cupcakes

It’s that time of year again..I’ve said this before, I measure my life in semesters and this week is the start of a new year. Thankfully, this is my last first day of school ever..like in my life. Grad school has been ridiculously hard and what better way to handle the stress than to splurge on some cupcakes.

I had a great summer that included an awesome trip to Miami to celebrate my dear friend’s wedding. The maid of honor and another good friend of mine, Meagan, made these amazing cupcakes for the bridal shower and even though they were mini cupcakes, I had way too many. She was gracious enough to give me her recipe, and I decided to make them as a back-to-school treat..for myself lol.

Meagan’s Dulce de Leche Cupcakes

Ingredients: 1 box golden butter cake mix (Duncan Hines recommended), 1 stick unsalted butter (room temp), 2/3 c. milk, 3 eggs, 1/2 can dulce de leche, gold dragees for decorating (optional)

Frosting: 2 c. heavy cream (cold), 1 1/2 cans dulce de leche

I have actually fallen into the whole Greek yogurt phenomenon (partly due to the John Stamos commercials). So I decided to use that instead of heavy cream for the “frosting”.

20130822_19000320130822_190550

Follow the directions on the box; blend cake mix, eggs, milk, and butter. Preheat oven  350, line pan with cupcake liners and I sprayed Pam because of my previous experiences making cupcakes/muffins..
In a small separate bowl, mix 1/4 can of dulce de leche and 1 c. of the cake batter and set aside.
20130822_192314
Fill the muffin tins half way with the cake batter and spoon a level tablespoon of the dulce de leche mixture into each cupcake liner. Use a butter knife to swirl it into the batter.
20130822_192802
Bake until tops are golden brown or 10 to 12 min. For the frosting if you use cream, beat the heavy cream and add the rest of the dulce de leche and beat until soft peaks form.
For me, I added plain Greek yogurt to the rest of the dulce de leche.
20130822_19390920130822_191110
20130822_194845
Wait for the cupcakes to cool before frosting. Since I used yogurt instead of frosting, I didn’t top them all at once, just one at a time before I ate them so I kept the rest of the yogurt mixture in the fridge.
20130822_200005
20130822_200057
*singing* Soooo goooood…listen…I can’t even…ya know what, you’re just gonna have to try this yourself 🙂
Leave a Reply

