Tamale Pie

I’m kind of in a rut creatively when it comes to food. Since it’s summertime, I should be more active in trying new things; but so far, I haven’t been as productive as I would have hoped. Oh well, summer ain’t over yet…I still have hope that I will be inspired before school starts again. So currently, I’m looking at what’s in my small arsenal of recipes and trying to come up with something I haven’t done before. This recipe is a mix of my Vegetarian Chili and my Vegetable Pot Pie. I googled what it could be called; and lo and behold, there are people who have similar versions and it is called a “tamale pie.” That link is for the carnivore version. It is basically a combo of beans and veggies with cornbread baked on top.

I was pretty lazy with the ingredients but here it is: can of corn, can of black beans, can of diced tomatoes, green pepper, onion, minced garlic, shredded cheese, Morningstar Grillers, salt, black pepper, chilli powder, cornbread mix

20130611_193244grillers 20130611_194156

Chopped the green pepper and onions and let them simmer a bit

20130611_194954

Drained the corn and beans and added them to the pot. Put 2 frozen griller patties in microwave for a little bit and then mashed them with a fork before adding them to the pot. Season with salt, pepper, chili powder, etc and have mixture come to a boil. Preheat oven to 400.

20130611_201630

Grease a dish and pour mixture in, then mix in shredded cheese. Put cornbread mix in separate bowl and follow packet directions.

20130611_200216

Spread cornbread dough across the top. I tried to spread it evenly but it was pretty thick. Put in oven for about 15 min or until cornbread is baked through.

20130611_204055

20130611_211738

20130612_213259

It turned out really tasty and I added some Fritos for the crunch factor. In hindsight, I probably should have made the cornbread from scratch (the package one was a little too dry) and used fresh corn straight from the cob or something…but aintnobodygottimefadat 🙂

Leave a Reply

