Eggplant Parmesan (baked version)

I’ve tried eggplant parmesan at almost every Italian restaurant I’ve been to; and from all these different tastings, I’ve found the ones that I really like are the kind where I don’t really taste the eggplant. Honestly, I’m not a fan of eggplant itself..it reminds me of zucchini which I’m not a fan of either. When I say that I’m not a fan of something, it doesn’t mean that I hate it and will never try it again..It just means that the times that I have tried it, I didn’t like the way it was cooked or presented. Like tofu, tofu can be prepared in dozens of different ways; and the taste of it also depends on how it is seasoned. Anyways, back to the topic, I’ve made this version of eggplant before and really liked it so I am sharing it with you today. Like I’ve said before, I’m not really good at measurements because I just throw stuff together but here are the ingredients I used:

Eggplant Parmesan:

1 eggplant, Italian style bread crumbs, 2 eggs, flour, salt and black pepper, angel hair pasta, Ragu or some other tomato sauce, diced tomatoes, shredded cheddar and parmesan cheese

20130521_185757

As you can see from the picture, I got a huge eggplant (couldn’t use all of it). I also wanted to experiment with fried onions but it didn’t really work out so ignore them lol.

20130521_190137

Peeled eggplant and sliced very thin

20130521_19133020130521_191335

Set up a station with the flour, whipped eggs, and bread crumbs in separate dishes. Add salt and pepper to the flour. Preheat oven to 375. First cover the eggplant slice in flour, then egg wash, then bread crumbs and put it on a greased baking dish.

20130521_192251 Bake for 20 to 30 min or until golden brown.

20130521_193451

I like using angel hair pasta because it cooks fast, and I add diced tomatoes to the traditional Ragu tomato sauce.

20130521_19565420130522_201544

I added the cheese last. It was all very filling and it didn’t have that eggplant-y taste 🙂 . Next time, I will try frying the breaded eggplant..I like baking though because it is easier for me not to burn myself as opposed to frying where I am prone to splash hot oil on myself. Anyways, I hope you beginner cooks out there find this recipe as easy to make as I did!

Leave a Reply

