Banana Nut Brownies

I’ve decided to eat more fruit this summer. Also, I wanted an excuse to use my blender and make smoothies; so I bought a bunch of frozen and fresh fruits. The problem is that whenever I buy fruit, sometimes I forget that I have it and it spoils. I’m not a huge banana fan (I don’t like to eat them by themselves) but I bought them because I know that I would have to use them quickly before they perish. So I was going to make banana nut bread..I had the ingredients and was about to make it when I realized that I didn’t have a bread pan. I really wanted it to be loaf-like..Then, I noticed I had some leftover chocolate chips in the fridge from when I made muffins a while ago. The thought came to me, why not just make banana nut brownies! Also, I was going to a Bible study that night so I decided to make enough to share..So there you have it, my excuses for indulging. But don’t worry, I still ended up making smoothies later.

Here is the recipe I used, with some modifications: Banana Brownies adding crushed pecans

20130517_180659

Melted butter on stove, then took pot off of stove and mixed in the chocolate chips until everything was melted together.

20130517_181005

20130517_181502

Mix all ingredients together, including mashed bananas and pecans. Add flour last.

20130517_181743

Preheat oven 325 and grease pan (I used olive oil) before you pour the mixture in pan. Bake for 30 min.

20130517_18540220130517_185353

Yummmmy (best served warm) and everyone loved them.

Then I made a Banana Peach Smoothie , I modified this recipe too. I just used a little plain yogurt, no milk, two spoonfuls of brown sugar, and ice along with the fruit.

20130519_134322

Banana with frozen sliced peaches.

20130519_134609

As you can see, the blender I have has like 12 different settings. I don’t know what I’m doing wrong but it always takes a while for the ice to crush..Maybe I put too much ice but I always end up with a few big chunks of ice left over. Anyways, here is the final product:

20130519_134942

It was good and refreshing but I didn’t taste a lot of peach..now I know I should add more peach next time.

Welp, now I’m officially ready for summer. Stay tuned, my next post will be about my Eggplant Parmesan attempt!

Leave a Reply

