Easy Crêpes

I’ve been to Paris twice..Once with my mom, aunt, and cousin when I was in middle school and the other time was my senior year of high school on a 2 week tour of Europe. I don’t remember a lot of things but I do remember the beautiful architecture, the Versailles, and always loving the crêpes. There is a wonderful, locally owned place nearby called Coffee and Crêpes..It’s a quaint little cafe that serves well, coffee and crêpes among other things like smoothies and baked goods. I go there sometimes by myself, sit in a corner, people-watch and have a berry smoothie with a Banana-Nutella Crêpe. Sooo delish which inspired me to see if I could recreate it at home.

20121012_125308Banana-Nutella Crêpe from Coffee and Crêpes

After googling some recipes, I realized that I had all of the ingredients at home. Except the banana..but I figured I should just try it anyway to see if I could and I did! I only made enough for me so if you use this recipe for more than one person, you might have to add on to the measurements and stuff.

Brown Sugar Crepes:

1/2 c. flour, less than 1/2 c. milk, 1 egg, 2 spoonfuls of brown sugar, 2 spoonfuls of butter, 1/4 tsp of salt, pinch of cinnamon

First, mix the egg and sugar together in a bowl. Next add the butter (melt it first) and flour. Mix everything together and make sure it’s kinda thin and liquid-like. Grease the frying pan with a little olive oil and make sure it is hot.

20130508_13434920130508_134507 Pour a little of the batter into the pan and tilt around until it covers the bottom. Flip over after a couple of seconds and make sure it’s golden in color..probably about a minute total, then put it on a plate. Repeat until the batter is finished.

20130508_134617

20130508_13500520130508_134414

Then spread the Nutella across the crepe. If I had bananas or strawberries, I would also add them here.

20130508_135131

Next, I folded into traditional crêpe shape lol and ate!

20130508_135417

I know, I know it looks a bit plain. If I planned it better, I would’ve bought fruit and powdered sugar and garnished it up a bit. But since I literally just took whatever was in my pantry, I think it worked out pretty well. And it tasted just like the café! Any excuse to use Nutella works for me..I might not be a professional French chef but I was pretty darn happy with the way my mini-crêpes turned out 🙂

Leave a Reply

