Easy Vegetable Soup

Last week, my poor husband had a root canal. I didn’t think it would be a big deal since I had my wisdom teeth out a few years ago and seemed to be back to normal within a few days. However, this experience seemed to be a bigger ordeal than initially expected..one side of his mouth was swollen so large that he had a hard time opening it wide enough for even a fork full of food to fit inside. He ended up losing his appetite and had a constant dull pain for almost the entire week. He went back to the dentist, and they said that if the pain and swelling didn’t go down that meant the infection was still there and they would have to redo his root canal! Well praise God, none of that was the case. After a few more days and a lot of meds, he was back to normal. So we lived on soup and applesauce for a few days, and I made up this easy vegetable soup that I am sharing today. I simply thought of ¬†everything I like in soup and put it together.

Vegetable soup: vegetable stock, celery, carrots, onion, green onion, mushrooms, black pepper and a few other seasonings

20130314_19433220130314_200335

First, I chopped the onion and put some butter, similar to how I make French Onion Soup. And let it saute a while before I add all the other ingredients. I slice all the vegetables very thin and add to the pot. Then, add the vegetable stock and seasonings (I like a lot of black pepper) and let simmer for a while (about 1 hour).

20130314_20200720130314_205432

 

Serve with some toast and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

