Orphans’ Thanksgiving

On our first Thanksgiving together, I think I caught a glimpse of what the real first thanksgiving was like. My husband’s family is in Ohio and mine is in Louisiana, finals are around the corner so we really couldn’t afford to go anywhere for a few days. So we decided to stay here, and one of my husband’s classmates invited us over for a potluck-style Thanksgiving.

For those who don’t know, my husband is in the masters program for Economics at Duke. A lot of the graduate students (like in my program) are not American. I didn’t have very high expectations for the dinner; but it still made me very much appreciate traditional Thanksgiving food and my own family. I decided to make potato salad…In the back of my mind leading up to the holiday, I kept thinking that maybe I should make the mac n cheese or sweet potatoes too. But I was just too lazy..and in hindsight, I should’ve just got over it because the only thing I could eat at that dinner was my potato salad, a Pakistani chick pea dish, and a roll.

Anyways, here is the extremely simple potato salad that I made:

I cut 5 or 6 potatoes in half and boiled them along with 5 eggs in a large pot until soft. It took a long time so I watched Audrey Hepburn’s Sabrina on netflix. Anyways, the above picture shows them all peeled and ready to mash. Unfortunately, I don’t have a potato masher so I had to use a regular fork and that was an arm workout.

The above ingredients was all I used along with some black pepper and regular salt. I like my potato salad a little sweet so I use a lot of relish. Here’s the finished product topped off with some paprika:

\

A few of the different nationalities represented at the dinner was: Russian, Vietnamese, Chinese, Canadian, Pakistani, Mexican, and Nigerian. I really don’t mind trying new things especially when it comes to international dishes…but they all had meat in them.

I call it Orphan Thanksgiving because the people at the dinner were far from home and away from family..It reminded me of the first thanksgiving because the Pilgrims were far from home and away from family, and they shared a dinner with foreigners (well technically, they were the foreigners). I know, corny right?

Even though the dinner was disappointing, the highlight was just spending it with my husband. Afterwards, we saw Lincoln, the movie with Daniel Day Lewis (which was really good by the way, and even though I knew the ending it still got to me!). And thankfully, the 24-hour McDonalds was open.

Stay tuned, my next post will show you my recipe for Vegetarian Lasagna!

Leave a Reply

