Aunt Judy’s Veggie Meatloaf

One of my favorite cooks growing up was my godmother, Aunt Judy. She made the best veggie meatloaf and potato salad. All throughout college whenever there was a potluck after church, I would make this meatloaf and it would be a big hit. Soon, it was pretty much the only thing I would make for dinners that I was invited to, and I did this for two reasons. One, its pretty easy/inexpensive to make; and two, it would give me something to eat at the dinner since it would generally be the only vegetarian dish.

Soo here are the ingredients and I must warn you again that I’m not really good with measurements. I usually just put what looks good to me so forgive me if the teaspoon/tablespoon/cups are a little vague. Also you should know that there are two ways to make it..For bigger crowds, I use Morningstar Griller Crumbles but if it’s a small group, I use the regular Morningstar Grillers and just smash them up with a fork (and it tastes a lil better too). And be careful not to get Griller Prime! I am NOT a fan of that one. Since I made this for just the husband and I, I used the original grillers as pictured below:

note: To smash it up, I heat them in the microwave for like 1 or 2 min and then cut them into fours and then proceed to smash with a fork.

Aunt Judy’s Veggie Meatloaf:

1 bag of crumbles or 4-5 grillers smashed by hand/fork

1 onion or 1/2 of onion

2 eggs

1/2 cup bread crumbs or toast like 3 slices of bread and crumble it up

1/3 cup milk and 1/4 cup water or just enough to even out the dryness of the bread crumbs

2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

seasonings (pictured below)

ketchup and sugar for the glaze

Instructions: 1) Sautee onions and meat. 2) Mix meat, onions, seasoning, cheese, eggs, milk, bread crumbs in bowl. 3) Preheat oven 350 degrees. 4) Grease pan (olive oil) and put mixture inside. 5) Mix ketchup and sugar in one bowl and spread on top loaf. 6) Bake for approx 35 min.

note: I use Lactaid milk because of the intolerance thing but you can use real or soy milk if you want. Also, that blue can is Italian bread crumbs.

Mixing everything together..mmm lol

The above seasonings are what I put in pretty much everything including regular salt and black pepper (not pictured)

ketchup and brown sugar mixture..I think I put too much sugar though

Note: Whenever I cook, I have a thing about using as few dishes as possible; so as soon as I put the mixture into the baking dish, I rinsed out the bowl and put the ketchup in it to mix.

I will also share one of my good friend’s recipe for quick and easy candied yams:

^^Found in frozen vegetable section at Walmart

Boil 1 or 2 cups of water with 1 or 2 cups of brown sugar and include a dash of each of the above ingredients: cinnamon, vanilla extract, nutmeg, butter, ginger. Pour syrup-like substance over the yam patties and put in oven 350 for about 25 to 30 min. I like mine super soft so I keep it in there until I see it boil.

Can’t have those two dishes without some kinda rice dish right?

Make rice separately (follow box instructions). Put beans, onions and seasonings in another pot and cook for a little. Then mix the two and you have a complete meal!

As you can see I made some frozen brocoli in the corner, so I did have some green in there. The rice was actually leftovers from a previous dinner so the whole meal didn’t take too long to prepare. This veggie meatloaf is one of my favorite dishes like ever, I never get tired of making or eating it and I have my Aunt Judy to thank for that! Hopefully, one of you will enjoy it as much as I do 🙂

Leave a Reply

