Nutella Craisin Muffins!

“Treat yo self!” If you watch Parks and Recreation, you know what episode I’m referring to when Tommy and Donna take a whole day to treat themselves by going to the mall and spa. I don’t usually bake too often, but I absolutely love baking muffins and cupcakes when I have the time because I have an insatiable sweet tooth. And now I have all the time in the world! But it’s funny because as I go from day-to-day of my “vacation”, I realize that my Christmas break to-do list seems to keep getting longer. Soon enough time will have flown by and next thing ya know, it will be the start of spring semester..but let’s dwell on the positive.

The reason I came up with this muffin idea is because I ran out of bread and apples but still had some Nutella left in the jar (and I only use Nutella on toast and green apples). So I googled around to find a Nutella dessert and I decided to mix these two recipes:

Coffee Cake Muffins and Nutella Muffins

Here are the ingredients used for these scrumptious treats:

Nutella Craisin Muffins

2/3 c butter

3/4 c brown sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

2 tsp baking powder

1-3/4 c flour

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

3 eggs

3/4 c milk

1/3 c olive oil

and Craisins (dried cranberries) and Nutella, of course

The list is a little long since I combined the recipes and I actually had most of this stuff in my pantry already, but you can pick and choose what to add like I did. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix the sugar, butter, eggs, vanilla, milk, and oil together in a bowl and in a separate bowl mix the flour, nutmeg, cinnamon, and baking powder together.

20121211_135517

Then, mix the dry ingredients with the egg mixture, beating it all together until smooth. Next, add the Craisins!

20121211_135846<-Mix it all together

Scoop into paper cupcake liners

20121211_141134<< For some reason my muffins don’t rise that high so I fill the liners almost to the top. Maybe I should add more baking powder..oh well, it all works out in the end. Now, scoop a spoonful of Nutella on top of each muffin batter.

20121211_141720

Take a knife and stir/push the Nutella into each muffin. I tried to get the swirl effect like in the original recipe but I didn’t have any toothpicks.

Put in the oven and bake for 20 minutes.

20121211_14402320121211_14434420121211_144834

It’s pretty ridiculous how happy I was when I took a bite and got to the warm gooey Nutella center! The Craisins added a tart/chewy-ness to it. Seriously, these were gone in like 2 1/2 days. I had them with every meal until they were gone…so sad. But I will definitely make them again.

There’s something about baking with cinnamon and nutmeg that just screams “Its the HOLIDAYS!” The smells just make me wanna listen to both of Mariah Carey’s Christmas albums and dance around the kitchen. This will probably be my last post until after New Years since my husband and I will be traveling. So I hope everyone has an awesome time with family and friends, and most importantly, eats some great food! :)

(I actually wrote the above post before I knew about the tragedy at Sandy Hook Elementry School in CT. My prayers and heart goes out to the parents and families of those victims, may God give them some sort of peace and comfort during this terrible time of grief.)

Leave a Reply

